Autism is not a handicap or a disability

I can relate to this as I was diagnosed with Asperger’s a year or so ago, which is a form of high functioning Autism. This makes it difficult for me to read body language, but I believe I connect to people in other ways, by feeling their emotions directly for example. I have to be very precise with the way I communicate and the words I choose to avoid being misunderstood. Sarcasm and irony are not well received because people think I’m being serious all the time due to my monotone voice, but in reality I’m usually just trying to amuse myself and those around me. It can be very disheartening to have your intentions constantly misunderstood. When we can all communicate directly via telecommunication however these problems will be a thing of the past, and people will be able to understand the real me much better πŸ™‚

By John Smallman

“The child is not shutting down but growing intellectually at an incredible pace that allows no time for basic motor and social skills to continue normal development.”

Full Article

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

