The Contentious Issue of the Ego

By Chris Jones

Some time ago I wrote two articles, The Ego is a Part of who you are, followed by My Definition of the Ego. I wrote the first article because I was seeing a lot of people expressing hatred for the ego and I knew that I did not agree with this. I wrote the second article to try to better define my understanding of the terminology I had used in the first article. As I have expressed in the main body of my writings, I certainly do not claim to have all the answers. I try the best I can to present material that I am sure about as clearly as possible, and I endeavour to update the information I present as my understanding develops.

I must thank the Guardians of the Golden Ray and Jill Renee for their article, Expanding Further into Unity Consciousness. They have managed to explain in an uncomplicated way what I was struggling to put into words. They have helped me to better understand the issue of the ego, and have allowed me to rewrite my understanding to more clearly convey the message I originally intended. Indeed, I have only written three paragraphs as I do not believe I have much more to write on the subject at the current time. Please refer to Jill’s article for a fuller understanding.

The ego is a collection of beliefs that we hold that enforce our view of being separate. You could think of the ego as being the vehicle we use to navigate the experience of separation. If we did not hold these beliefs we would experience the oneness that we really are.

When we express ourselves through the ego our expressions are a distorted version of the pure frequency of our soul. By observing these expressions we can recognise the beliefs that the ego holds. By changing our beliefs we alter the distortion of our soul energy, and in turn our behaviour patterns change and our external world shifts in response.
So the collection of our beliefs that we call the ego is neither good nor bad. If we don’t like the results we can choose to change our beliefs. The beliefs we hold enable us to experience our self as someone other than the one that we are, and by holding different combinations of these beliefs we can experience our self as different personalities in different times and places.

©2013 Chris Jones

Permission is given to share this article in full or in part as long as nothing has been changed or altered in any way, credit is given to the writer, and a link to the writer’s website is included.

https://christopherjonesonline.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

